ASIS elects new board members, president

ASIS International on Monday announced it has elected a new president for 2012, along with three new members to serve on its board of directors for the 2012-2014 term.

Eduard J. Emde, a consultant with BMKISS Europe, has been chosen to serve as the organization’s president in 2012. Emde, the first non-U.S. security practitioner to serve in the position, succeeds Raymond T. O’Hara, executive vice president of consulting and investigations for Andrews International, who will become chairman of the board for ASIS.

Among the three newly elected board members include; Deborah L. Allen, director of product stewardship and security at Potash Corporation; Darryl R. Branham, senior director of security systems for Travelers Insurance Company; and, John E. Turey, director of security for ITT.

There are seven members who will continue to serve on the ASIS board including; Brian J. Allen, chief of security for Time Warner Cable; Marene Allison, worldwide vice president of information security at Johnson & Johnson; Chad Callaghan, vice president of global safety and security for Marriott International; David C. Davis, senior manager for Northrop Grumman; Edward G. Hallen, manager of safety and security services for Occidental Petroleum Corp.; Joseph H. McDonald, chief security officer for Switch Communications Group; and, Stephen Scharf, senior vice president and global chief information security officer for Experian.

Both Emde and O’Hara will serve on the Board Management Committee of the Board of Directors, which directs the activities of ASIS between meetings of the full board.

The board management committee consists of five people including:

-President: Emde
- Chairman of the Board: O’Hara
- President-Elect: Geoffrey T. Craighead, vice president of Universal Protection Service
- Treasurer: Richard E. Widup Jr., senior director of corporate security for Purdue Pharma
- Secretary: Dave N. Tyson, vice president at Apollo Information Systems

ASIS Board members serve a three-year term. The newly elected board and officers will assume their positions on Jan.1, 2012.