Tri-Association event recognizes security industry leaders

New York, Nov. 4, 2010 -- At an event held Thursday night at The Lighthouse on Chelsea Pier 61 overlooking the Hudson River, three of the security industry's leading associations came together to recognize two persons who had devoted their time to improving the security industry. The industry's annual Tri-Association Awards Dinner is held every year in conjunction with ISC Solutions in New York City, and is presented jointly by the Security Industry Association (SIA), the Electronic Security Association (ESA) and the Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA).

Recognized with the 2010 George R. Lippert Memorial Award at the 2010 Tri-Association Awards Dinner was Leo Guthart. Guthart is CEO and chairman of Topspin Partners, an investment firm that often works with security firms, but Guthart is most recognized for his leadership of Ademco, where he served as president, CEO and chairman. During his tenure at Ademco, an alarm systems and sensor technology firm, the company was acquired by Honeywell, and Guthart went on to serve as CEO of the Security and Fire Solutions Group at Honeywell before retiring in 2002. In a speech following the presentation of the Lippert award, Guthart recognized many of the "great people" he worked with over the years, but also challenged the industry to deal with the issue of false alarms. He called false alarms the "achilles heel" of the security industry, and warned those in attendance that the problem of nuisance alarms was risking the business of the industry.

Following the presentation of the Lippert Memorial Award, Cecil Hogan was presented the 2010 Triton Award. Hogan was a past president of the Electronic Security Association (then known as the National Burglar and Fire Alarm Association) from 2002 to 2004. He was a previous recipient of the ESA's Weinstock award. Following the presentation of the award, Hogan discussed his efforts at reconciling differences between ESA, SIA and CSAA when the relationship between those three organizations was on "rocky ground." He recalled the process he aided in aligning the leadership between the organizations so that their efforts were seen not as competitive, but as jointly collaborative. It was following the reconciliation that the three associations began presenting the Tri-Association Awards Dinner.

Also recognized at the event was the winner of the Fred V. Morrone Memorial 9/11 Award. The 2010 recipient was Retired Admiral Thad Allen. Admiral Allen was recognized for his command of Coast Guard operations as part of BP's Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. As part of that response effort, Admiral Allen served as the federal government's national incident commander. Admiral Allen also was recognized for his command efforts for the responses to the 9/11 attacks and Hurricane Katrina in 2005, when he served as Coast Guard chief of staff.