Attorney General Mukasey Recognizes Department Employees and Others for Their Service at Annual Awards Ceremony

WASHINGTON , Oct. 28 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Attorney General Michael B. Mukasey recognized 250 Department employees for their distinguished public service today at the 56th Annual Attorney General Awards Ceremony. Twenty-two other individuals...

Another John Marshall Award for Trial of Litigation was awarded to Alexandra R. Gelber , Trial Attorney, Child Exploitation and Obscenity Section, Criminal Division of the Department of Justice; Audrey J. Renschen and Kimberley Sayers-Fay , Assistant U.S. Attorneys, from the U.S. Attorney's Office for the District of Alaska . The trial team was recognized for their dedication to prosecuting United States v. Don Arthur Webster Jr. , the first sex trafficking trial in the District of Alaska .

Trial Attorneys James D. Freeman , Heidi Kukis Hoffman, Mark C. Elmer and David F. Askman , from the Environmental Enforcement Section, Environment and Natural Resources Division of the Department of Justice, were presented with the John Marshall Award for Participation in Litigation for their achievement in litigation against W.R. Grace & Co., achieving a trial court judgment of $54 million and obtaining a landmark settlement of $250 million to resolve claims for cleanup costs incurred and to be incurred at the Libby, Mont. , Asbestos Superfund site. This settlement will provide a direct benefit to the residents of the town of Libby and help reduce their exposure to asbestos.

Another John Marshall Award for Participation in Litigation was awarded to Assistant U.S. Attorneys Michael J. Raphael and Douglas M. Miller from the U.S. Attorney's from the Central District of California . Raphael and Miller received the award for their outstanding litigation work on the successful investigation and prosecution of the leaker of grand jury transcripts during the Bay Area Laboratory Cooperative prosecution in the Northern District of California . The investigation and prosecution exemplifies strong efforts in upholding the integrity of the legal system.

Another recipient of the John Marshall Award for Participation in Litigation was Trial Attorney Luis E. Saucedo , Special Litigation Section, Civil Rights Division. Saucedo is recognized for his work on a case involving the implementation of a consent decree to correct unlawful conditions of confinement at juvenile justice facilities in the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico . The safety and well being of approximately 900 youth has been enhanced because of Saucedo's efforts.

The John Marshall Award for Support of Litigation was presented to employees from the Environmental Enforcement Section of the Environment and Natural Resources Division of the Department of Justice, for their work on the American Electric Power settlement, the largest single environmental settlement in history. Recipients were, W. Benjamin Fisherow , Deputy Chief; Thomas Mariani , Assistant Chief; Phillip A. Brooks , Counsel to the Chief; James A. Lofton , Senior Counsel; Deborah N. Behles , Former Trial Attorney; and Trial Attorneys Myles E. Flint II , Justin A. Savage , Thomas A. Benson , Jennifer A. Lukas-Jackson and Katherine Vanderhook-Gomez .

Zita Y. Johnson-Betts , Supervisory Attorney, Disability Rights Section, Civil Rights Division of the Department of Justice, was also presented the John Marshall Award for Support of Litigation. Johnson-Betts was honored for outstanding leadership in the overall development, management and implementation of the Civil Rights Division's testing program for compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act.

The John Marshall Award for the Handling of Appeals was presented to Malcolm L. Stewart , Assistant to the Solicitor General. Stewart is recognized for his exemplary legal skills in handling appeals and the vital role he has played in representing the United States before the U.S. Supreme Court. During the past year, Stewart personally argued four cases before the U.S. Supreme Court, including two cases in one eight-day period.