Attorney General Mukasey Recognizes Department Employees and Others for Their Service at Annual Awards Ceremony

WASHINGTON , Oct. 28 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Attorney General Michael B. Mukasey recognized 250 Department employees for their distinguished public service today at the 56th Annual Attorney General Awards Ceremony. Twenty-two other individuals...

An additional Attorney General's Award for Excellence in Furthering the Interests of U.S. National Security was presented to a team from the National Security Division of the Department of Justice, from the Office of Intelligence, Deputy Assistant Attorney General Matthew G. Olsen ; Associate Counsels Tashina Gauhar , Gabriel R. Sanz-Rexach , Robert P. Boyer and Tara A. Hurley ; Attorney Advisors Frank P. Menna , Stuart J. Evans , and Jonathan W. Gannon ; and Program Specialist Colum J. Gatens ; from the Office of Law and Policy, Deputy Assistant Attorney General John C. Demers ; former Counsel for National Security Law and Policy George C. Bobb III ; and former Deputy Assistant Attorney General Brett C. Gerry .

The team received the award for their excellence in furthering the interests of national security through their development and handling of highly sensitive interagency initiatives involving legal, technical and administrative issues related to the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act. The team's extraordinary dedication and expert knowledge of intelligence and national security was instrumental to the success of these vital initiatives.

The Attorney General's Award for Equal Employment Opportunity is the Department's highest award for performance in support of the Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Program. This year's recipient was Oliver C. Allen Jr. , EEO Officer for the DEA. Allen was recognized for his efforts in furthering the goals of the program through effective leadership, imagination and innovation. Since Allen became the agency's EEO officer, participation in EEO diversity and cultural programs has increased two-fold.

The Attorney General's Award for Excellence in Legal Support recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of legal support to attorneys by paralegal specialists and other legal assistants. The recipients were, from the Executive Office for U.S. Trustees, Tina L. Oppelt , Paralegal Specialist, Office of the U.S. Trustee, Newark, N.J. ; from the USMS, John A. Patterson , Torts Claims Administrator, Office of General Counsel; from the U.S. Attorney's Office for the District of Oregon , Karen L. Klever , Forfeiture Paralegal Specialist and Gerri L. Badden , Victim Witness Specialist; from FBI Portland, Ore. Division, Cindy M. Dugan Forfeiture Paralegal Specialist; from the Research and Publications Section, Office of the Solicitor General, Candy P. Lubin , Technical Editor; Paralegal Specialists Susan D. Ross , James K. Davis and Michele M. Klatka .

The Attorney General's Award for Excellence in Administrative Support recognizes outstanding performance in administrative or managerial support by an administrative employee or secretary. Recipients in the Administrative Category were, Mark A. Jenkins , Chief Procurement, Facilities and Administrative Services; Procurement Liaison Specialist Carol S. Perry and Kathy S. Thrift , Administrative Support Specialist, Executive Office, National Security Division; Deputy Assistant Director Cathleen C. McIntyre , Space Management Specialist Myriam E. Skelly , Chau Huu Tran , General Engineer, Real Property Management Services, Facilities and Administrative Services Staff, Justice Management Division; and Thanet Williams , Supervisory Facilities Management Specialist, Executive Office for U.S. Trustees. Recipients in the Secretarial Category were Margaret Miller , Warden's Secretary, Federal Correctional Complex Coleman, Federal Bureau of Prisons; and Angela M. Brown , Secretary, Office of the Assistant Attorney General for the Criminal Division.

The Attorney General's Award for Outstanding Service in Freedom of Information Act Administration recognizes exceptional dedication and effort to the implementation of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This year's recipients, from the Office of Legal Counsel were, Deputy Executive Officer Elizabeth M. Farris ; and Paralegal Specialists Tsedey C. Berhanu , Bernsteine B. Garrett, and Richard A. Hughes . The team received the award for their outstanding efforts in coordinating Office of Legal Counsel responses to litigation-related requests under FOIA.