NFPA names 2010 award winners

June 7, 2010 – The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) presented three awards that recognize achievements in fire and life safety today at the 2010 NFPA Conference & Expo.

The recipient of this year’s Standards Medal is the late George Flach. This award is given out in recognition of outstanding contributions to fire safety and the development of codes and standards. It is the highest award given by the Standards Council.

Flach, formerly of Jefferson, La., was honored wit award is presented annually, along with a $5,000 cash prize, to the authors of the most outstanding paper submitted to Fire Technology during the previous calendar year, as voted by the International Editorial Board. This award is named after the late Harry C. Bigglestone, a trustee of the Fire Protection Research Foundation and a fellow and president of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers. This is the 25th anniversary of the Bigglestone Award.

NFPA has been a worldwide leader in providing fire, electrical, building, and life safety to the public since 1896. The mission of the international nonprofit organization is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.