Bexar Co., Texas, Implements Alarm Registration, False Alarm Fee Ordinance

New permitting and fine system went into effect on Jan. 1, 2005


Alarm system owners in unincorporated Bexar County, Texas (near San Antonio), are now required to obtain a permit for their alarm systems.

The new ordinance went into effect on Jan. 1, 2005, and requires permits for residential systems at a cost of $25, and for businesses at a cost of $35. Renewals are $15 for residential alarms and $25 for business alarms.

Non-registered alarms can be fined between $50 and $500 according to the San Antonio Express-News, and a fine system has been implemented for false alarms.

The alarm permit is available online at www.bexar.org/bcsheriff/alarmpermit.htm.