At ESX, alarm industry leaders recognized with awards

Charlotte, N.C. (June 8, 2011) -- At the Electronic Security Expo being held this week in Charlotte, N.C., two industry organizations recognized some of their own for their tireless leadership and volunteer efforts.

On Tuesday, during an industry "icebreaker" luncheon, the Security Industry Alarm Coalition (SIAC) presented its William N. Moody Awards for 2011 to Jay Hauhn of ADT Security Services. Hauhn is the chief technology officer and vice president of industry relations for ADT, and has also been handling fundraising efforts for SIAC.

SIAC's Executive Director Stan Martin credited Hauhn for his tireless work raising funds, especially during the economic downturn of recent years. Fundraising goes to support SIAC's missions of reducing unnecessary alarm calls to first responders and establishing communication between the first responder (especially law enforcement) community and the alarm industry.

Also at the luncheon, SIAC and the False Alarm Reduction Association (FARA) jointly presented their 2011 Police Dispatch Quality (PDQ) Awards. The award is co-sponsored by Honeywell Security and is designed to recognized a company that is taking a proactive approach to reducing unnecessary alarm dispatches. The 2011 PDQ Award winner was Custom Alarm from Rochester, Minn. Leigh Johnson, CEO of Custom Alarm, was on hand to accept the award. SIAC's Stan Martin said that Custom Alarm had a very low dispatch rate per customer (.19 per customer per year) and that the firm was performing almost 80 percent better than the average company in the industry that provided similar services.

Later in the evening, the Electronic Security Association (ESA) held its Weinstock and Jackson Awards Ceremony at the NASCAR Hall of Fame adjacent to the Charlotte Convention Center.

The evening began with recognition of the organization's sponsor companies and quickly turned to recognition of individuals.

The program first recognized Brian Roxas as the winner of the ESA Youth Scholarship Program Award. Roxas' father, Alberto, is a firefighter, and the award is presented annually to the child of a first responder who demonstrates excellence in academic performance. Roxas held a 4.2 grade point average and plans to study at Cornell. Presenting the award was long-time security industry advocate David Simon (formerly of Brink's). Simon said that Roxas was not the only deserving contender for the 2011 award and noted that 2011 saw some of "the tightest and most competitive entries" the scholarship program had seen in some years.

Up next were the main event awards of the evening.

The 2011 Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award was presented to LJ Lynes of Stanley Security Solutions and the Tennessee Burglar and Fire Alarm Association (TBFAA). Lynes is the chairman of the ESA Education Committee; the award recognizes volunteer leadership within the ESA organization.

Presenting the award was David Koenig, the 2010 recipient. Koenig said this of Lynes' strong efforts inside ESA: "It really takes leadership to move a committee forward. You don't have to spend much time around this guy to know how passionate he is and how hard he works."

Following the presentation of the Jackson Award, ESA's leadership turned to the presentation of what it calls its most important industry award, the Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award.

Named the 2011 recipient of the Weinstock Award was Past ESA President Michael A. Miller. Miller, the vice president at Moon Security Services in Washington State, was presented the award by Jamie Orvis, the 2010 recipient of the award. Kurt McDonnell, residential business leader at Interlogix (the sponsor of the award), introduced the award, and shared with the industry the kind of person that Morris F. Weinstock Award was, and noted that one of Weinstock's chief attributes was his absolute generosity to the industry. It was an attribute, he said, that is found in the recipients of the Weinstock Award, all of whom generous devote their efforts to the ESA and the alarm industry with no expectation of receiving anything in return. The award was first presented in 1970.

Miller, clearly moved by receiving the award, credited his wife and family (Moon Security Services is a family-run business) for supporting him in his service as ESA President.