According to information provided by the Kansas City (Missouri) Police Department to the website KansasCity.com, permit fees and false alarm fines were increased this month.
Renewal fees are rising from $35 to $40. Residential alarm system users will now be charged on their third false alarm in the year, with the fine starting at $40 and increasing to $120 based on successive alarms. The registration/permit fee does not have to be paid by residents and business which did not have false alarms.
The police department said it will not respond to alarms that are not registered with the city.