Corporate Security Alert: Political and Security Trouble Spots for 2005

Control Risks Group publishes RiskMap to forecast opportunities and trouble spots for 2005

The Latest for Executives Executives

Control Risks Group, the UK-based international business risk consultancy, has published its annual RiskMap 2005, its annual study and forecast of political and security risks across the globe. Although the headlines in 2005 will continue to be dominated by the ongoing war on terror, the report argues that this may only serve to distract business from the more direct and critical challenges it will face around the world. While acknowledging the global security consequences of events in the Middle East, RiskMap 2005 contends that the greatest threat to corporate success in key investment destinations such as Russia, Nigeria, Venezuela and Indonesia will be longstanding and local risks. The company?s condensed data is listed below; the RiskMap itself is available for purchase from the company itself. If your employees are overseas, keep a close eye on the following areas, which pose risks to businesses operating in these regions.

Russia (Chechnya region), Somalia.

Iraq, Somalia, Tajikistan (Afghan border area, Garm, Tavildera regions).

Afghanistan, Belarus, Bolivia, Burundi, Cote d'Ivoire, Georgia, Guinea (Conakry), Haiti, Iraq, Israel (Palestinian Authority (PA) areas), Liberia, North Korea, Philippines, Serbia and Montenegro (Kosovo region), Somalia (Somaliland), Tajikistan, Togo, Turkmenistan, Venezuela, Zimbabwe.

Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia (Azerbaijani border areas), Azerbaijan (Armenian border areas, Nagorno-Karabakh), Bangladesh, Burundi, Cameroon (major cities), Central African Republic (north, north-western regions), Colombia, Congo DRC, Cote d'Ivoire, Eritrea (Ethiopian, Sudanese borders), Ethiopia (eastern areas towards Somalia, towards Kenyan border, along Eritrean border), Georgia, Guatemala (Guatemala City), Haiti, Jamaica (Kingston and Spanish Town), India (Kashmir, Assam, Manipur, Tripura and Nagaland), Indonesia (Aceh, Papua, Central Sulawesi and Maluku), Israel (PA areas), Kenya (northern areas towards Somalia and along Ethiopian borders), Kyrgyzstan (Tajik and Uzbek border areas), Laos (Xaysomboune Special Zone and Xieng Khouang Province), Liberia (border with Cote d'Ivoire), Macedonia (northwest region), Moldova (Transdniestr), Nepal, Nigeria (Niger delta), Pakistan, Panama (Darien Province on Colombian border), Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby, Lae and Mount Hagen), Peru (Upper Huallaga, Apurimac, Ene and Perene valleys), Philippines (south-central, west Mindanao), Rwanda (border with Burundi), Russia (Dagestan, Ingushetia and North Ossetia), Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro (Kosovo, southern Serbia), Somalia (Somaliland), Tajikistan, Uzbekistan (Tajik border areas, Fergana valley), Venezuela (Colombian borders), Yemen, Zimbabwe.

Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Congo DRC, Croatia, Cyprus (TRNC), Djibouti, East Timor, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco (Western Sahara region), Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Tanzania (Zanzibar archipelago), Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia.

This content continues onto the next page...