Deadline extended for First Line of Defense award

The entry deadline for the First Line of Defense award, an award program designed to recognize security firms that protect lives and property, has been moved to March 14, 2008. The NBFAA announced the deadline extension in an email to members this afternoon.

Formerly awarded at the ISC West show in Las Vegas, this NBFAA award will now be presented at the ESX tradeshow in Nashville next June. It has traditionally been a way for the industry to tout the daily, positive actions of the electronic life safety and security industry, and to recognize some of the key players in saving lives and property.

American Alarm's Wells Sampson, whose firm was recognized as the 2006 recipient, said that just submitting an award entry form gives company owners to thank their employees.

"Even just submitting the story is worthwhile, because it gives owners and managers a chance to thank their employees and to remind them of the enormous responsibility they have every day in protecting the people of our country," Sampson told the NBFAA members.

Entry forms and special notices about the First Line of Defense award can be found on the NBFAA website at

First Line of Defense award recipients
2007 - HSM
2006 - American Alarm
2005 - Norshore Alarm
2004 - A.S.P. Security Systems
2003 - Northwest Alarm & Security Systems
2002 - DDS Home Automation and Security
2001 - Total Security Concepts
2000 - Network Alarm
1999 - CARE Security