Chairman Announces Homeland Security Committee Members

WASHINGTON -- Homeland Security Committee Chairman Christopher Cox (R-CA) announced the majority members who will serve on the Committee.

"The Republican Leadership and the Conference have appointed a roster of expert, exceptionally talented, and serious national leaders, to the Homeland Security Committee," Chairman Cox said. "The experience, knowledge, and solid judgment of this distinguished group will ensure that the Homeland Security Committee makes a solid contribution for the safety and security of every American. I look forward to working with the Committee's Ranking Member, Rep. Bennie Thompson, who I am certain will be leading an equally capable team on the Democratic side."

The Committee on Homeland Security has primary jurisdiction over government-wide counterterrorism policy, and is the principal legislative and oversight committee for the Department of Homeland Security.

Republican Members of the Committee on Homeland Security are:

Rep. Don Young (AK)            Rep. Jim Gibbons (NV)
Rep. Lamar Smith (TX)          Rep. Rob Simmons (CT)
Rep. Curt Weldon (PA)          Rep. Mike Rogers (AL)
Rep. Chris Shays (CT)          Rep. Steve Pearce (NM)
Rep. Peter King (NY)           Rep. Katherine Harris (FL)
Rep. John Linder (GA)          Rep. Bobby Jindal (LA)
Rep. Mark Souder (IN)          Rep. David Reichert (WA)
Rep. Tom Davis (VA)            Rep. Michael McCaul (TX)
Rep. Daniel Lungren (CA)       Rep. Charles Dent (PA)