ESA celebrates industry contributors

The Electronic Security Association (ESA) presented its highest honors last night at the event now renamed ESA Celebrates.

Formerly known as the Weinstock and Jackson Awards Celebration, the burglar and fire alarm industry attendees at ESX 2013 in Nashville honored two individuals for their contributions to the industry and named after industry icons Sara Jackson and Morris Weinstock, alarm company and central station owners who helped start the association.

Held at the Country Music Hall of Fame, George De Marco, master of ceremonies and ESX chair, announced that the event would now be called ESA Celebrates. But De Marco, a former alarm company owner of The Greater Alarm Co. in California found himself receiving an award for his volunteer and committee work and the recipient of the 2013 Sara E. Jackson Award. Although intimately involved with the planning and work behind the ESX show, now in its sixth year, De Marco was caught off guard when his early childhood pictures were shown on a video screen, and his name was announced as the winner of the accolade.

“I had no idea,” De Marco said. “It means a lot to me, but it means so much more to work with such great people,” he said. De Marco’s wife, two daughters and two sons were present to see the awards presentation. Lauren De Marco also sang at ESA Celebrates: “Proud to Be an American.”

The lifetime service award, the Morris Weinstock accolade and named after one of the second official members of the NBFAA, was presented to David Koenig, a principal of Capital Fire and Security and Capital Lock in Madison, Wis. Koenig first received his award at the ESA Leadership Summit earlier this year in Orlando, but the presentation now included his family—including his wife and sister, who commented that his parents were truly proud of his many accomplishments. “The only way you get to a place like this is through other people,” David Koenig said.

Sponsors and partners of the event included: Interlogix, Honeywell, Axis Communications, ADI, Telguard, Tri-Ed Distribution, Altronix and Security America Risk Retention Group.