National Cyber Security Hall of Fame 2013 inductees annnounced

Sept. 9, 2013
These individuals helped define an industry and secure a nation, Chairman says

Baltimore, MD -- September 3, 2013 -- The National Cyber Security Hall of Fame, today released the names of 5 cyber security pioneers who will be enshrined in the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame on Wednesday, October 9th at a gala banquet in Baltimore.

In announcing the inductees, Mike Jacobs, the first Information Assurance Director for the National Security Agency (NSA) and Chairman of the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame said, "these honorees continue to represent the best and the brightest of our past. These individuals helped define an industry and secure a nation." Of the more than 250 nominations reviewed, the board of advisors named 5 inductees to the 2013 Cyber Security Hall of Fame:

Willis H. Ware – Ph.D., Princeton University, 1951. Pioneer in all aspects of computer technology from hardware and software to public policy and legislation; created the first definitive discussion of information system security, as Chair of a Defense Department committee, treating the subject as both a technical matter and policy issue.

James Anderson (posthumously) – Effectively started the field of intrusion detection, invented the concept of the reference monitor and originated the idea of contaminated media and loading an altered OS, the “2-card loader” issue, whose intellectual successors are such things as Stuxnet, and advanced persistent threats (APT) and arguably was the first computer virus.

Eugene Spafford – One of the most recognized leaders in the field of computing and information security. He has an on-going record of accomplishment as a senior advisor and consultant on issues of security and intelligence, education, cybercrime and computing policy to a number of major companies, law enforcement organizations, academic and government agencies. A pioneer in the field of information security education; inventor, with Eugene Kim developed the first free, over the Internet, intrusion detection system – Tripwire; and renowned for first analyzing the “Morris Worm” one of the earliest computer worms.

David Bell – Co-authored the “Bell-La Padula model” (with Leonard J. La Padula), the most widely used security model and the only security model referenced in the Trusted Computer Systems Evaluation Criteria. Extended computer-security principles from the Trusted Computer Systems Evaluation Criteria into other contexts, such as trusted networks and trusted database systems.

James Bidzos – Internet and security industry pioneer; He served as CEO of RSA Data Security from 1986 through 1999. Along with RSA co-founder and MIT professor Ron Rivest, Bidzos built RSA into the premier cryptography company in the 80s and 90s, becoming the early standard bearer for authentication and encryption; founded and continues to lead VeriSign; created the RSA Conference in 1991, and was the Chairman of the event until his retirement from that position in 2004.

Nominations were made by qualified organizations engaged in cybersecurity and were ranked and reviewed by the board using established criteria in five categories: Technology; Policy; Public Awareness; Education; and Business. The 2013 class is composed of those individuals who collectively invented the technologies, created awareness, promoted and delivered education, developed and influenced policy and created businesses to begin addressing the cybersecurity problem. Biographies for the 5 inductees will be available at our website: Tickets for the Cyber Security Hall of Fame Dinner event are $250 and available at:

The National Cyber Security Hall of Fame was established to honor the individuals and organizations with the vision and leadership to create the foundational building blocks for the cybersecurity industry. In addition to Jacobs, the board of advisors includes: Martin Hellman (Hall of Fame inductee inaugural class, 2012); John Grimes (former Chief Information Officer, Department of Defense); Karl Gumtow (CEO & Founder, Cyberpoint International); Susan Landau (Visiting Scholar, Harvard University); Francis Landolf (former Senior Executive, NSA), Robert Lentz (former Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Defense); Carl Landwehr (Hall of Fame inductee inaugural class, 2012); William Newhouse (Cybersecurity Advisor, NIST); Robert Rodriguez (Founder & CEO, SINET); Richard Schaeffer, (former Information Assurance Director, NSA); Corey Schou (Professor of Informatics, Idaho State University); and Brian Snow (former NSA Information Assurance Directorate technical director)

The Hall of Fame motto, Respect the Past: Protect the Future recognizes the history and contributions of those pioneers, innovators and educators who influenced the industry and laid the foundation for the tens of thousands information security and assurance technologists working at universities, federal agencies and businesses today who stand sentry on tomorrow's cyber security challenges and solutions.

The 2013 National Cyber Security Hall of Fame Gala is part of a two-day Cyber Security month celebration that includes CyberMaryland 2013 conference. This two-day conference at the epicenter of the nation’s cybersecurity innovation and education, will create opportunities for networking and idea sharing amongst the many cyber leaders and professionals across the country, including: federal, state and local government agencies, academic institutions, cybersecurity entrepreneurs, and industry leaders of research and development.

About the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame

The National Cyber Security Hall of Fame organization has been created and is being supported by companies and organizations committed to recognizing the individuals that played a key role in the creation of the Cyber Security Industry. For more information go to