ESX 2023 Recap: Winland Electronics Tops Product Awards

June 16, 2023
EAPro-Gateway wins TechVision Challenge; Vos and MacDowell honored with top ESA awards

LOUSIVILLE, KY – The EnviroAlert Professional Gateway and wireless sensors from Winland Electronics was named the winner of “Best in Show” at the Electronic Security Expo (ESX)’s annual TechVision Challenge, which puts the top 8 products from the show’s Innovation Awards in front of a judging panel in a Shark Tank-like competition.

The EAPro-Gateway is an on-premise monitoring console the can be stand-alone or integrated into a security system, for real-time monitoring and alerting of up to 34 zones impacting environment-dependent assets such as temperature, humidity, water, and gases.

The Eagle Eye Smart Video Search from Eagle Eye Newtorks was named as the TechVision Challenge runner-up. The judging panel included Mark Reimer of ADT, Michele Monheim of Amherst Alarm, Inc., Rodger Reiswig of Johnson Controls, Richard Tampier of ADT Commercial, and Philip Love of Security Central.

Here’s the full list of ESX’s Innovation Award-winning security products and services announced at the show:

  • Cell Connector for Access Control (Category: Controllers – stand-alone or networked or appliance-based)
  • STid: Architect Series (Category: Readers and keypads)
  • MacGuard Security Advisors: Likelihood to Stay Score (Category: Customer experience)
  • National Monitoring Center: Nexus (Category: Business Operations)
  • BOLD Group: Managely Financial and Business Management Software (Category: Financial Services)
  • Essence Security: Myshield 1.5 (Category: Intrusion Detection Sensors)
  • Winland Electronics: EAPro-Gateway and Associated Wireless Sensors (Category: Notification appliances – motion, contacts, environmental)
  • Becklar: Customer Engagement Platform (Category: End-user alarm monitoring)
  • AvantGuard: AG Mobile Technician App (Category: Alarm monitoring dealer apps)
  • Bosch: Conettix B6800-SR Software Central Station Receiver (Category: Alarm monitoring software)
  • Napco: Prima Smart Home & Security System (Category: Smart Home control systems)
  • Snap One: Episode Radiance (Category: Smart Home A/V receivers)
  • Eagle Eye Networks: Smart Video Search (Category: Video analytics)
  • Dice Corp: Matrix Interactive Video Monitoring Platform (Category: Video Management Software)

More from ESX: ESA Awards and Elections

Jamie Vos, President of Security Solutions Northwest and former ESA Chairman, was honored as the Electronic Security Association (ESA)’s Morris F.
Weinstock Person of the Year, an award dedicated to recognizing the lifetime achievement and service to the industry of a dedicated individual.

Additionally, Kirk MacDowell, president of MacGuard Security Advisors, was honored with ESA’s Sara E. Jackson Award, recognizing an ESA member's outstanding service on a committee, task force, or board. The award was presented by ESA Chairman John Loud.

Finally, at its Annual Meeting at ESX, the Electronic Security Association (ESA)
inducted new members to its Board of Directors as follows:
  • Integrator Directors (two-year term): Melissa Brinkman, Jeremy Bates, Brendan Armstrong Jr.; Randall Renfroe (one-year term)
  • Associate Director (two-year term): Jason Lutz
  • Associate Director (one-year term): Dean Belisle
  • Competency Directors (one-year term): Steve Firestone, Michael Barnes 
About the Author

Paul Rothman | Editor-in-Chief/Security Business

Paul Rothman is Editor-in-Chief of Security Business magazine. Email him your comments and questions at [email protected]. Access the current issue, full archives and apply for a free subscription at