ESX 2015 Recap

June 30, 2015
A look at the individual and product awards handed out at the recent Baltimore event

In addition to education sessions, keynotes and the trade show floor, the Electronic Security Expo (ESX) offers an annual chance for the alarm industry to recognize the many achievements and contributions made by key members of the Electronic Security Association (ESA), Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA), the Security Industry Alarm Coalition (SIAC) and more.

Among those honored at ESX 2015 was immediate past ESA president John Knox, who was given the Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award, acknowledging the outstanding achievement of a very special individual and his or her continued efforts on behalf of ESA and the industry.

SIAC presented the Willam N. Moody Award to Ron Rothman of Honeywell, and then surprised Stan Martin, SIAC’s, executive director, with his own Moody award for his service to SIAC. The Moody Award was established in 2004 by the SIAC Board of Directors to recognize those who embody Bill’s dedication to alarm management issues. It honors individuals who reflect attributes that include integrity, fairness and perseverance in the face of adversity.

ESX also served as a platform for CSAA’s Central Station Excellence Awards. Kyle Johnson of DMC Security Services was named Support Person of the Year; Susan Farris of Security Central was honored as Operator of the Year; Randy Ambrus of Cooperative Response Center was recognized as Manager of the Year; and finally, Guardian Protection Services was named the Central Station of the Year.

Additionally, CSAA president Pam Petrow presented the first Public Service Award to Bill Hobgood, Project Manager, Public Safety Team in the Department of Information Technology for the City of Richmond, Va., given in recognition of a public sector individual’s contribution to the alarm industry.

ESX Innovation Awards Recap

The ESX 2015 Innovation Awards honored industry products and services for their innovative technology, design or application. Winners were selected by a panel of judges who evaluated their potential to help security and life safety professionals run, grow, and maximize their businesses.

Innovation Awards judges also chose the ten most innovative products and services from the field of ESX 2015 Innovation Award winners to compete in the ESX TechVision Challenge — a head-to-head judged competition in a “Shark Tank” style format — where Honeywell’s MAXPRO Cloud was named Best in Show.

Among the winners:

• Access Control Cards: Bristol ID Technologies’ RFID Hangtag

• Controllers: Honeywell Security Group’s Pro-Watch 4.2

• Readers/Keypads: ZKAccess’ BioCam300

• Cabling: GEM Electronics’ Universal BNC Compression Plug

• Dealer Services: Monitronics’ Dealer Portal

• Digital Health/Well-Being Systems: Essence’s Care@Home

• Emergency Communications: Advanced Fire Systems Inc.’s PerfectSync

• Home Automation: White Rabbit Electronics’ Smart Hub

• IT/Networking: Bold Technologies’ WebProtectMe

• Control Panels: Interlogix’s ZeroWire

• Outdoor Detection: Optex’s SL-650QDM

• Wireless Communications: Resolution Products’ HeliPAD Wireless Security Keypad

• SaaS: Dice Corp.’s hosted monitoring centers

• VSaaS: Honeywell’s MAXPRO Cloud

• Digital Recording: Honeywell’s HRGX with I-View Now

• VMS: Salient Systems’ Web Client H.264

About the Author

Paul Rothman | Editor-in-Chief/Security Business

Paul Rothman is Editor-in-Chief of Security Business magazine. Email him your comments and questions at [email protected]. Access the current issue, full archives and apply for a free subscription at