Morgan Hertel begins term as TMA president; Lott and Mahler Awards announced

Oct. 19, 2021
Association also recognizes Stanley C. Lott Memorial and Mel Mahler award winners during annual meeting

The Monitoring Association (TMA) on Tuesday announced that Morgan Hertel, Vice President of Technology and Innovation at Rapid Response Monitoring, has begun his two-year term as president of the organization effective Oct. 14th at the conclusion of TMA’s 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting.

Hertel recently served a two-year term as Vice President of the TMA Executive Committee and will succeed ADT’s Don Young, who will now serve as Immediate Past President on aforementioned executive committee.

“I am extremely excited about taking on the next two years,” Hertel said in a statement. “TMA is a very unique trade association in that it supports a culture of inclusiveness that both encourages and nurtures positive, productive collaboration.  Most members have deep connections with other members and are able and open to working together for the betterment of the industry.”

Mel Mahler and Stanley C. Lott Memorial Awards

In addition to naming a new president, TMA during its annual meeting last week also recognized two of its members with awards.

TMA Past President Robert R. Bean, formerly of Alert Alarm of Hawaii, was announced as the recipient of the Stanley C. Lott Memorial Award. Established in 1991 to honor its namesake, the award recognizes exceptional leadership and support.

In presenting the award to Bean, Young commented: “Two words that epitomized Stan Lott’s character are integrity and dedication. These words, likewise, can be attributed to this year’s award winner today. As chair of the Membership Committee, the award winner was a driving force to increase TMA membership, including international members. Countless hours were devoted to TMA’s interests in ESX, which served as TMA’s Mid-year Meeting for a number of years. He is truly all that Stanley Lott represented.”

Also, during the meeting, the association presented the Mel Mahler Award to NetOne’s Glenn Schroder, who serves as the TMA Standards Committee Chair. Formerly known as the President’s Award, the Mel Mahler Award is presented at the discretion of the TMA president in recognition of outstanding contributions within his/her tenure.

“An exceptional leader, the 2021 award winner has collaborated jointly with monitoring professionals within the TMA community, as well as public safety and communications professionals, to introduce new technologies, standards, and processes aimed at reducing risk and heightening safety and security,” said Young, adding, “It is difficult to capture the magnitude of this member’s commitment in words. Suffice to say, I am enormously grateful to have had this professional on my leadership team over the last two years. This recipient’s contributions will most certainly significantly impact the future of TMA, our industry, and the families and businesses we protect for decades to come.”



Sponsored Recommendations

The “New Cyber Trust Mark” labeling program

How organizations can ensure efficiency and move to full acceptance

Keysight and Synopsys partner for IoT device cybersecurity

The Keysight IoT Security Assessment solution makes it easy and cost-effective for manufacturers to test IoT devices now and achieve the new White House Cyber Trust Mark certification...

Cisco to acquire Splunk

Cisco and Splunk's complementary capabilities will provide observability across hybrid and multi-cloud environments enabling the company's customers to deliver smooth application...

Z9 Security certifies Mavin Technologies as z9/op=n for Azure access controllers

The z9/op=n integration not only offers Mavin VARs and customers a wider range of access control hardware options, but also provides ongoing and significant cost and time savings...