Southern Miss forms advisory board for sports security

May 29, 2008
Board includes members from 19 different organizations

The University of Southern Mississippi’s Center for Spectator Sports Security Management recently formed a national advisory board intended to research and strengthen security measures at sporting events in the U.S. and across the globe.

The Sports Security and Safety Management Advisory Board is composed of board members from 19 different sports or security related organizations.

According to a statement issued by the university, the purpose of the board is to serve as an "advisory, educational, curriculum and placement resource" as it relates to spectator security.

The statement issued by school officials also noted that the advisory board will assist university officials in developing strategies to improve venue security education and research, provide counseling and placement for students studying sports security, as well as conduct lectures and classroom presentations.

Members of the advisory board include: Andrea Shultz from the United States Department of Homeland Security; Milt Ahlerich of the National Football League; Earnell Lucas, Linda Pantell and Dan Mullin of Major League Baseball; Charles Burns III of the Indy Racing League; Gary Gardner of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing; Joel Downing and Bernie Tolbert of the National Basketball Association; Evan Dabby from Major League Soccer; Dennis Cunningham and Joe Caporricci from the National Hockey League; Michael Rodriguez of the United States Tennis Association; Mike Cleary and Bob Vecchione from the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics; Bill Squires of the Stadium Managers Association; Greg Shaheen from the National Collegiate Athletics Association; Lou Marciani of the University of Southern Mississippi; Mark Moran of Ingersoll Rand Security Technologies; Peter Fos of the University of Texas at Tyler; Christopher Broderick of Weber Shandwick; Russ Simons of HOK; Turner Madden of Madden & Patton; and Frank Baker of Robinson & Cole LLP.