FAST Names 2023 Security Technician of the Year Awards

Oct. 26, 2023
These ten individuals have shown an unparalleled commitment to their profession, setting benchmarks in customer service, technological expertise, and leadership.

The Foundation for Advancing Security Technology (FAST) proudly announces the winners of the inaugural Security Technician of the Year Awards. This new initiative underscores the indispensable role that security technicians play within the industry.

Security technicians form the backbone of the security industry. These essential employees are on the front lines, ensuring the meticulous design, installation, and maintenance of vital security systems that protect our communities. Their dedication and expertise ensure that our workplaces, homes, and nation remain secure.

Recognizing these unsung heroes is not just an acknowledgment of their tireless work but also a testament to how pivotal they are in shaping the industry’s future. The accolade serves to bolster their professional growth, gain customer recognition, and inspire others to strive for excellence in their roles.

“The security industry relies on technicians for much of the work that we do, and FAST is proud to recognize the tremendous talent in the industry with these awards. These ten Security Technicians of the Year consistently go above and beyond every day, and we are proud to share the great work that they do with the entire security industry” said Aiden O’Brien, Executive Director of FAST.

2023 Security Technician of the Year Awardees

Robert Rigdon

Project Lead Technician, Aktelecom LLC

Stephen Grossi

Senior Technician, Security Systems Unlimited

Burl Howard

Lead Technician, Priority One Security

Justin McCormack

Installation Technician, Security Pros

Joshua Devan

Field Service Technician, Stealth Monitoring

Dustin Fields

Lead Technician, Indiana Alarm

Raffaello Lance

Security System Integrator, EMD LLC

Robert Johnson

Installation Technician II, Everon

Daniel Strickfaden

Service Technician I, Everon

Trayer Rende

Managed Services Integration Technician, M3T Corporation

“Having been deeply involved in the formation of the Security Technician of the Year Awards, I know the profound impact technicians have on our industry. Their dedication, expertise, and unwavering commitment deserve more than just our acknowledgment—they deserve our admiration. This award puts technicians in the spotlight and gives them the recognition they so rightly deserve,” stated John Nemerofsky, Chief Operating Officer, SAGE Integration and Vice Chair of the FAST Board of Directors.

Learn more about the award winners here. 

These ten individuals have shown an unparalleled commitment to their profession, setting benchmarks in customer service, technological expertise, and leadership. FAST applauds their contributions and looks forward to the positive ripple effects their recognition will bring to the broader industry.

To further honor their achievements, we hope you will join us at an awards ceremony at ISC East in New York City. The ceremony will be held on the Bridge Stage from 3:15pm – 3:45pm on November 15, 2023. This event provides an excellent opportunity for industry professionals to come together, network, and celebrate the very best among us.

FAST encourages industry members to keep an eye out for the 2024 Security Technician of the Year Award call for nominations. The 2024 awards will be presented at the ESX Electronic Security Expo (June 3-6, 2024). This initiative is an integral part of FAST’s ongoing commitment to celebrate and uplift talent within the security industry.

Congratulations to all our winners!

For media inquiries and further details, please contact Aiden O’Brien at [email protected].