International Code Council Elects Directors, Officers

Oct. 11, 2005
Michigan codes director to head up ICC Council Board as president

The International Code Council elected its 2005-2006 Board of Directors and officers at the organization's recent Annual Conference.

Members elected Henry Green President of the International Code Council Board. Green is the Executive Director of the Bureau of Construction Codes and Fire Safety for the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth. First elected to the Board of Directors in 2002, Green most recently served as Vice President. He previously served on the Board from 1994 to 1998. Green also is past chair and current member of the National Institutes of Building Sciences Board of Directors and participates in the World Organization of Building Officials.

The International Code Council's new Vice President is Wally Bailey, Director of Development and Construction for the city of Fort Smith, Ark. A certified building official, Bailey previously served as the Board of Director's Secretary/Treasurer. He was first elected to the Board in 2000.

Steven Shapiro was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the International Code Council Board. He is the Director of Codes Compliance for Hampton, Va. A certified building official, Shapiro was first elected to the International Code Council Board in 2000.

Three Board members were reelected to serve three-year terms as Directors. They are Jimmy Brothers, Terrence Cobb, John Darnall, Gerald George and John LaTorra. Brothers is Building Director for Decatur, Ala. Cobb, a certified building official, is Director of the Department of Codes Administration for Nashville/Davidson County, Tenn. Darnall, a certified building official, is the Assistant Director of Development Services in Tumwater, Wash. George, a certified building official, is the Chief Building Official in Boulder County, Colo. LaTorra is Building and Inspection Manager for Redwood City, Calif.

International Code Council members also elected one new representative to the Board of Directors. Ron Piester, Director of the Division of Code Enforcement and Administration for the State of New York, will fill a one-year term on the Board. The seat was vacated due to Shapiro's election as Secretary/Treasurer.

The International Code Council Board of Directors also includes: Ed Berkel, C.F.I., Fire Marshal for the Mehlville, Mo., Fire Protection District; William Duck, C.B.O., Chief of Inspections and Code Enforcement for the city of Columbus, Ga.; William Dupler, Building Official for Chesterfield County, Va.; Greg Johnson, Building Inspector for the city of St. Paul, Minn.; Ron Lynn, Building Official for Clark County, Nev.; James (Tim) Ryan, C.B.O., Codes Administrator for Overland Park, Kan.; Kevin Scott, Fire Marshal/Battalion Chief for the Kern County, Calif., Fire Department; and Adolf Zubia, Fire Chief for Las Cruces, N.M.

The International Code Council, a membership association dedicated to building safety and fire prevention, develops the codes used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the International Code Council.